Menu Menu

Study programmes

All students at Blackpool Sixth are following full-time study programmes which lead to highly valued qualifications which will set you on course for future success. Apart from your main subject learning, your study programme will also include pastoral mentor support sessions and personal development through the 6Xtra programme, 6Advance and work experience.


The A level Programme

The A level programme provides an excellent preparation for university entry as well as higher apprenticeship programmes. In year one (Lower Sixth) you can choose three A level courses, in some cases, four choices may be possible. In year two (Upper Sixth), you will concentrate on completing three A levels.

What kind of GCSE grades will I need? 

For our A Level programme, we require at least two GCSEs at B (5) grade and three GCSEs at grade C (4) or above, including English language and maths. The pass grades need to be in academic GCSEs and relate to your chosen A level courses.

BTEC Programme

The BTEC programme will appeal to you if you want a more work-related focus to your studies than A level courses offer. These courses develop industry-relevant skills as well as having an academic focus and are also much more coursework-based than A levels. The core of the programme is a BTEC level 3 qualification in one of a range of occupational areas. This qualification will count the same as two or three A levels and is studied over two years. BTEC level 3 qualifications provide an excellent preparation for university, employment or higher level apprenticeships. Find out more on our website.

What kind of GCSE grades will I need?

As BTEC level 3 courses are advanced courses, we require five A*- C passes of C (4) grade or above (or equivalent) including English language or maths.

Mixed Programme

In some cases you will be able to combine BTEC courses with A level courses to complete your programme (this is called a ‘mixed programme’). This works well for grouping together related courses from both A level and BTEC qualifications. However, some students find that it is best to concentrate on one type of qualification. For the Mixed Programme you will need the same minimum grades as for the BTEC Programme and also meet the specific requirements for the individual courses you want to take.


Want to study at Blackpool Sixth but not sure you’ll get the grades you need? Talk to us! We have the ideal option for you. Our ‘Route3’ programme gives you an opportunity to gain your level 3 qualifications over three years instead of two. We’ll look at your career and study goals and help you build a package that will get you there, including supporting you to achieve your all-important GCSE English and maths. To join this programme, ideally you’ll need 4 GCSE grades at grade D (3) (or equivalent) and your English and maths need to be no less than grade E (2).